Picnic with a stranger

DSCN3329

Hello, hello, hello… it’s Amber, star of the blog. (And yes, I am wearing Kit’s skirt over my shirt. It acts like a poncho and it’s so cool. I got the idea from Youtube.) Firstly, if you’ve been noticing some blog posts appear and then disappear, Kit changes her mind quite a lot. So please ignore Kit’s outbursts :D. But enough about Kit and time to talk about me.

Recently, when the weather was not too hot and quite comfortable, I decided to take a picnic. Some of this idea comes from Doll Diaries’ hobo picnic (http://dolldiaries.com/camp-doll-diaries-take-a-hobo-picnic/) , except I’m pretty sure hoboes didn’t eat frosted Cheerios and crackers (a weird afternoon snack).

DSCN3314

Off I went hiking to find a good place to eat my picnic. BTW, see that the picnic blanket has cows on it? 😀

DSCN3317

Here will do! I sat down to eat and realized that the crackers had dropped! I was too lazy, um, comfortable, to get them, though, so I just ate frosted Cheerios. At times, nothing can beat them!

All of a sudden I heard quiet, muffled footsteps. I was confused. Emma and Kit were out, and my mom was inside. Was it a rat? (I hate rats!!)

DSCN3319

But no, it wasn’t. It was a doll, I think, but I didn’t recognize those shoes…

DSCN3321

All of a sudden her full body came into view. I couldn’t see very well with the light, but I already saw that she was pretty. Her dress was cute too, but it looked old. Her headband was doll-lightful, her shoes too – not my style, though, and it was getting too hot for socks.

DSCN3334

Extremely pretty, I thought as she inched along the side of the flowers to join me. And her hair? She’s a redhead! That is just SO cool. Her hair was very silky and smooth. It was such a great length. Then she turned her eyes towards me, and I nearly fell backwards. Her eyes were so piercing it was a bit scary! But they were pretty too, especially their color.

“Hello,” she said in a tiny voice with a British accent. “May I sit with you, please?”

DSCN3323

“Hi!” I exclaimed as she came next to me. Then, “do I know you?” I asked politely.

“I’m Emily, Emily Bennett,” she told me simply, smoothing over her dress. “I’m from England and I don’t know where I am.”

I learned that Emily Bennett had come from the 1940s, from England to America, and somehow had lost herself in time. It was confusing, but then again, Kit had done the same. I also learned that Emily was quite quiet but sharp. She was the sort of girl that everyone gushed over her and made her the center of attention. She was trying to impress me, I was sure of it. I think she wanted to hit it off with me. She wouldn’t talk about the war a lot, and when she did, it gave me the impression that she was telling me that she knew more than I did about it. Which was true, but a bit rude.

I told her that she could share my picnic with me, and I said I was sorry that I didn’t have the crackers with me.

“That’s alright,” she replied. “I found some on my way over.”

DSCN3324

And there were my crackers in her hand!

“Those are mine!” I cried and when Emily handed them to me, I suddenly realized, she had followed me!

DSCN3325

We sat and talked for a bit. She was getting on my nerves a bit, with that flawless English accent and perfect manners to match. She was looking at me a lot too, and informed me I looked like “Molly”. Like who? Who’s Molly?

DSCN3331

And then Miss Prissy wanted a tour of where I was staying. I reluctantly gave her one. She seemed quite impressed, nodding but not saying a lot, and she smiled when she saw the garden and spurted out these gardening tips and asked me if I did them. I said no and she told me it was alright, but she gave me a sort of weird look.

DSCN3336

So far, I wasn’t liking Emily a whole lot. She’s not very friendly and she seems… I dunno… cold, a lot of the time. I wonder why I haven’t seen her around. If she’s local, I hope she won’t be the sort that always wants to do something with me. I’ve got Kit and Emma for that, thank you.

DSCN3337

Before long I had had enough of Miss Bennett and I tried to tell her that I needed to go.

“Jolly good,” she answered. “I was just wondering if you could help me with something.” She showed me a piece of paper. “I’m looking for this address.”

I saw the address. My eyes widened.

“With someone named Amber living there?” Emily prompted, and I remembered I hadn’t told Emily my name.

“Actually – ” It would be so easy to tell Emily that they lived over in North Dakota or something, but she looked at me and held my gaze with those amazing eyes. I figured she must be pretty depressed with the war and all, so I said, “I’m Amber, and this is the address you’re looking for.”

“Jolly good!” she repeated, but this time more stunned.

“Why?” I wondered. “Why do you want to know?”

DSCN3327

And her blue eyes met mine, and I knew what she was going to say.

“Because,” she began, and I inwardly groaned. “I’m going to be residing here. I’m the new doll.”

Out of all the ways to ruin a picnic, I think this was number 1.

Amber

Please leave a reply!

